Dear Morganian,

Finally the time has come for our amalgamation with the Dr. Morgan’s Association. This was inevitable as time passed and our “ younger” Old Morganians are ready for the challenges ahead.

We had our first meeting in the Tudor Restaurant in 1991. It was a casual buffet affair and I think that there were 38 founder members present. Amongst these were Peter Gunningham, Brendon Russ, Tom Pearce and Alan Barnett- all to become valued members of the Society Committee. We were up and running.

For the last 21 years we have held an annual dinner. Initially the venue varied and included the Masonic Hall and the Bridgwater Rugby Club where we had a joint dinner with the Association. Latterly we always met in the Tudor Restaurant which has suited us well and the food, service and ambiance have always been of the highest order. They have looked after us well and we owe Mike and Andrew Mouzoure and their staff a tremendous debt of gratitude.

We have also had  a very loyal and hard working committee. Peter Gunningham, Alan Barnett, Brendon Russ, Tony Wilkins, Mal Treharne and Tom Pearce all made invaluable contributions. Tom offered the facilities of his office to the Society and without this help our progress would have been curtailed. He was always very positive and encouraging and the development of the Society owes a lot to his support. Mal Treharne was a late comer to the committee but his input as Chair of Governors at Haygrove School was very valuable.

Your present committee has continued along the very sound foundations and has done sterling work. A special thank you to Colin’s wife Tricia for her help with administration over the last couple of years. A separate sub-committee, ably run by Peter Braine, John Stuckey, Chris Lawrence and others, administers the John Biffen Award which is made annually to a student at Bridgwater College. This will be ongoing. Nevertheless we felt that the time for amalgamation was upon us.

Reminiscing we have had some great times. Our speakers have included Bev Dovey (England RFU), Geoff Miller (English Cricket), Stew Grainger, Roger Evans, and Tony Ball (with his bumper fun book). Tony has been a great supporter of the Society and has helped us several times to the delight of us all. Many thanks to them and the supporting cast over the years.

Finally, I would like to thank all our members for their fantastic support. Unfortunately our numbers have decreased quite dramatically of late. After consulting with you the committee concluded that the time was right for the amalgamation to go ahead as the joint membership is now at a level which is manageable from an administration and Dinner catering aspect. The Dinner on the 15th September at the School was the ideal opportunity. I know that you will give your full support to the new committee.

With my sincere thanks to you all and my best wishes for the future. See you at the School on the 15th!!

Yours sincerely


Dear Morganian

As Secretary, I was asked by Bryan to send this letter out, which I have been only too happy to do.

I was not happy to do this without recording our tremendous gratitude to Bryan for we all know that, but for his Herculean efforts over 21 years, the Society would have floundered- if it had even got off the ground. Having worked closely with him over the last 10 years I know how much the Society means to him and how much work he has put into keeping it going over the  years. It has not been without its problems and worries but he has very successfully steered us through. I would also like to pay tribute to Bryan’s wife Valerie for the support that she has given him and the Society and for the coffee and biscuits she has provided at our mini-meetings!

This all makes it sound as if Bryan is sailing off into the sunset with a cheery wave ( or maybe a two-fingered salute!). But all is not lost. I am pleased to say that the new committee have asked Bryan to be the President of “Old Morganians” and he has accepted .

For your information the new Committee is:

Bryan Lancastle   President
Bill King                Chairman
Mike Dodden       Treasurer
Dick Raymond     Secretary

Committee members:  Colin Brown, Ray Haines, Chris Hockey, Brian Scott, Ralph Sealey, Tony Wilkins and Paul Williams

Newsletter Editor and Webmaster:  Geoff Marchant.

All these posts come up for re-election in 2 years.

On behalf of the Society Committee , myself and , I am sure, all the members-  MANY , MANY, THANKS  BRYAN!

Dick Raymond